Like a kid in a candy store

… If the entire store was comprised of fresh fruits and vegetables. I will have to say I’ve been a little over zealous with the vegetable consumption since arriving in Italy. Contrary to popular belief, the markets here aren’t only comprised of pizza and pasta, but an array of beautiful fruits and vegetables, as well as specialty cheeses and cured meats (my absolute favorite). Driving from the Dolomites to Ascoli Piceno was quite the experience agriculturally as well. Nestled between each large city seems to be some of the most beautiful agriculture I have ever laid eyes on. Field after field engulfed in vineyards, sunflowers, and a variety of fruits and vegetables seemed plentiful. During the six hour journey to Ascoli Piceno, I don’t believe I went over 10 minutes without seeing some sort of intentional agriculture out of the window. I was awestruck in the most positive way.  The product of labor can be seen at the spectacular Rialto Market in Venice as well as the daily markets held in Ascoli Piceno.  The beauty of waking up before class, strolling down to the market, and picking out my selection of fresh fruits and veggies for the day is something I’ve never been able to experience at home. Another wonderful surprise came when I reached into my wallet and pulled out less than 5 euros for the entirety of my purchase, which has lasted me over 4 days in consumption. At a market back home, this would be unheard of. Though the stereotype of pizza and pasta does ring true to some extent, I have never been more pleasantly surprised than my market experiences in Ascoli Piceno.

IMG_4088

2 thoughts on “Like a kid in a candy store

    • Ttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt This is so awesome! I am so jelous! I never had the opportunity to do anything like this when I was in college. Nor did I have the guidance to find a major so interesting and appropriate for a foodie. I am looking so forward to following your life for the next 6 weeks; and if yoiu are not careful I may have to run away from home and catch up with you. I am so proud of you! Keep up the great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

